Menu
Categories
Pure Nature in Vang Vieng
12. November 2016 Laos

Lao – the land of untouched nature and wilderness. Although tourism constantly increases in several parts in Lao, there are still lots of places in this country where you find pure nature, wilderness, beautiful landscapes and breathtaking views. There is one place which I immediately fell in love with and which became one of my favorite part in Lao: Vang Vieng. I know, there will be many of you who say Vang Vieng is the most touristy place in the whole country and there is no untouched nature but heaps of party backpackers. Well, that’s definitely true but it’s only a part. Of course, there is this small city center of Vang Vieng which is super crowded, full of backpackers and party people. However, if you leave the center and start to explore the surroundings, you will realize that there is one of the most beautiful landscapes you’ve ever seen. If you’re willing to take a bike or a rented scooter rather than going with the touristy busses or Tuk Tuks, you will find breathtaking sceneries, amazing landscapes, original villages and pure nature. I still remember how amazed I was by all the great sceneries which had left me speechless. Vang Vieng is a gorgeous place which is so much more than partying and tubing. You just have to leave the tourists’ tracks and then you will find amazing things!  

As I visited Lao in the middle of dry season, I decided to rent a scooter to explore the surroundings. There were some days when I had no plan and no actual place I wanted to go. I just started driving and on the way I discovered the most amazing places, landscapes, sceneries and views. Vang Vieng has breathtaking Karst Mountains, riverbeds, villages and caves. It’s definitely true: “The journey is the reward.”

img_1713

img_1719

img_1726

img_1749

The landscape with all of its Karst Mountains is just unbelievably beautiful! There is so much to see and explore, so make sure to take your time! 

20160331_132717

img_1724

Vang Vieng is famous for its Karst Mountains but also for its amazing caves. There are countless caves which are absolutely stunning. The caves have different levels of difficulty – there are some which can be only visited by an organized tour, other caves require a guide and then there are caves which can be visited on one’s one. However, you definitely need a good torch (!) and waterproofed shoes as most caves are rarely lit and quite slippy and wet.  

A particularly splendid cave is called “Tham Pou Kham” which can be visited on one’s one. The dripstones are absolutely beautiful and quite diverse. I haven’t seen so many different formations before. The cave is pure magic, it’s twinkling and sparkling everywhere. I could have stayed there for ages, there are countless corners to explore. It’s incredibly fascinating what nature creates! Unfortunately, I don’t have lots of photos of this cave as it was just too dark to take good pictures. However, here are two photos which I took right at the beginning. I hope it gives you at least a small idea of how it looks like: 

20160331_122249

20160331_121412

Right at the entrance of the cave, there are the so called “Blue Pools” which are just perfect for a break and a swim after visiting the cave. So don’t forget to bring your swimming clothes with you 🙂

Another great cave is called “Tham Bang” which is also known as the elephant cave. It’s a very small cave and actually  it’s rather a grotto than a cave. However, this cave has a very strong cultural and religious value to the local people. On the first picture you can also see why the cave is called “Elephant Cave”: there is a dripstone which exactly looks like an elephant. Funny, isn’t it? 

img_1743

img_1746

Besides the caves, Vang Vieng is famous for its Tubing. You haven’t heard about it? Well, you just take a huge truck tube and then let yourself float down a river. Yes, it sounds cool and believe me, it is so much fun! Although it’s probably the most touristy thing you can do in Vang Vieng (I guess even in the whole country), it’s definitely a highlight you shouldn’t miss. A Tuk Tuk brings you to the starting point where you get your tube and from there you start floating down the river until you reach the town center of Vang Vieng. I’ve been there in the dry season, so it took about 2-3 hours. In the wet season, it takes much shorter. However, you always have the possibility to stop earlier as there are several Tuk Tuks along the shore area. On the way, there are some bars where you can buy drinks and / or party. There had been countless bars but today you only find three or four as there were some serious accidents with drunk backpackers. However, it’s still a nice atmosphere, everyone is super friendly and you get to know people from all around the world. 

The actual highlight is the stunning scenery along the way. The landscape is so incredibly beautiful and absolutely breathtaking! 

20160402_172350

The tubing is definitely worth it and even though it’s quite touristy, it’s a great thing to do when visiting Vang Vieng. By the way: if you want your deposit (7 Euros which is a lot in Lao) back, you should be back on time. I was 2 minutes (!!) late and I didn’t get anything back…

Lao is a really great country and Vang Vieng is one of my favorite places. I will never forget the beauty of Vang Vieng’s landscape and all those stunning views. So if you’re visiting Lao one day, don’t forget to visit Vang Vieng. There is so much to explore and see, you won’t regret it 🙂  

Have you ever been to Lao? Do you have some favorite spots? I’m happy to read your comments.

Anne


Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_excludeUntranslatedPostComments() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/annestra/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 288
Leave a Reply
*

Menu
Kategorien
Natur Pur in Vang Vieng
12. November 2016 Laos

Laos – das Land der unberührten Natur. Obwohl in einigen Teilen des Landes mittlerweile der Tourismus eingekehrt und damit auch ein Stück Natürlichkeit verschwunden ist, so ist Laos eines der unberührtesten und landschaftlich schönsten Länder, die ich bis jetzt bereist habe. Ein ganz besonderer Ort, der mir mit seiner atemberaubenden Natur für immer in Erinnerung bleiben wird, ist Vang Vieng. Ich weiß, viele werden jetzt sagen, Vang Vieng ist extrem touristisch, von partywütigen Backpackern überlaufen und hat rein gar nichts mit Natürlichkeit und Ursprünglichkeit zu tun. Das ist zwar zu einem gewissen Teil richtig, aber eben nur zum Teil. Verlässt man nämlich einmal den kleinen Ortskern mit seinen tatsächlich sehr vielen Bars, Clubs und Hostels und macht einen Abstecher in Vang Viengs Umland, so stellt man schnell fest, dass es selten so wunderschöne Landschaften wie dort gibt. Und wenn man sich nicht scheut, das Fahrrad oder den eigenen Roller anstatt der Touri-Busse zu nehmen, dann entdeckt man viele unberührte, atemberaubende Plätze, die einfach sprachlos machen.

Da ich mitten in der Trockenzeit in Laos war, hatte ich mich für den Roller entschieden, um damit die Gegend zu erkunden. An manchen Tagen bin ich ohne großen Plan und wirkliches Ziel durch die Landschaften rund um Vang Vieng gefahren und so habe ich wunderschöne Felsketten, Flussbetten, ursprüngliche Dörfer und Höhlen entdeckt. Denn hier gilt: Der Weg ist das Ziel. 

Vang Vieng

img_1719

img_1726

img_1749

Die Landschaft mit ihren typischen Karstfelsen ist wirklich beeindruckend und unglaublich schön. Es gibt so viel zu entdecken, es lohnt sich also, etwas Zeit mitzubringen. 

20160331_132717

img_1724

Neben den gigantischen Karstfelsen ist Vang Vieng berühmt für seine unendlich vielen und wirklich beeindruckenden Höhlen. Es gibt viele verschiedene Höhlen mit unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeitsgraden. Für manche benötigt man einen Guide, einige können nur im Rahmen einer gebuchten Tour besucht werden und wieder andere kann man ohne Probleme selbst erkunden. Allerdings benötigt man definitiv eine gute (!) Taschenlampe und feste Schuhe, da viele Höhlen schlecht oder gar nicht ausgeleuchtet und teilweise extrem rutschig und nass sind. 

Eine besonders schöne Höhle ist die “Tham Pou Kham”, die man auf eigene Faust erkunden kann. Sie ist wirklich riesig und wunderschön. Die Tropfsteinformationen sind unglaublich beeindruckend. Überall funkelt und glitzert es. Ich hätte dort ewig bleiben können, so viele tolle Sachen gibt es dort zu sehen. Es ist wirklich faszinierend, was die Natur so alles erschafft! Fotos habe ich nur ganz am Anfang gemacht, da es in der Höhle selbst einfach zu dunkel zum Fotografieren war. Aber vielleicht bekommt Ihr ja so schon einen kleinen Eindruck:

20160331_122249

20160331_121412

Am Fuße der Höhle gibt es die “Blue Pools”, die sich perfekt für eine Abkühlung nach der Höhlenerkundung eignen. Also unbedingt Badesachen mitnehmen 🙂

Eine weitere empfehlenswerte Höhle ist die Tham Bang, die sogenannte Elefantenhöhle. Sie ist sehr klein und eigentlich viel mehr eine Grotte als eine Höhle, aber von sehr großem kulturellen Wert. Das erste Bild zeigt auch, weshalb die Höhle Elefantenhöhle heißt: Ein Kalkstein sieht wirklich aus wie ein Elefant. Verrückt!

img_1743

img_1746

Neben den Höhlen ist Vang Vieng vor allem berühmt für das Tubing. Noch nie gehört? Mit einem LKW-Schlauch lässt man sich einen Fluss hinunter treiben. Ja, das hört sich nicht nur toll an, es macht auch unglaublich viel Spaß! Auch wenn es wohl die touristischste Sache ist, die man in Vang Vieng, wenn nicht sogar in ganz Laos, machen kann, so ist es definitiv ein Highlight, das man nicht verpassen sollte. Mit einem Tuk Tuk geht es zum Startpunkt, wo man sich einfach in seinen LKW-Schlauch setzt und sich den Fluss hinunter treiben lässt. Bis zum Endpunkt (Vang Vieng selbst) dauert es in der Trockenzeit zwischen 2-3 Stunden. In der Regenzeit geht das natürlich deutlich schneller. Sollte man schon früher abbrechen wollen, ist das kein Problem, an den Ufern stehen meistens einige Tuk Tuk Fahrer. Unterwegs gibt es immer wieder einige Bars, wo man sich Getränke kaufen kann und wenn man möchte, auch ordentlich feiern kann. Allerdings gibt es mittlerweile nur noch eine Handvoll Bars, da es wohl immer öfter zu tödlichen Unfällen aufgrund von Alkohol- und Drogenmissbrauch gekommen ist. Die Bars, die aber noch offen haben, sind wirklich ganz nett und bieten zu günstigen Preisen Getränke an. 

Das eigentliche Highlight sind jedoch die Ausblicke, die man während des Tubings hat. Die Landschaft ist der Wahnsinn und unglaublich beeindruckend!

Tubing Vang Vieng

Das Tubing hat sich auf alle Fälle gelohnt und obwohl es so viele Touristen machen, ist es ein schönes Erlebnis. Ein kleiner Tipp noch: Wenn Du Deine Kaution (immerhin 7 Euro, was sehr viel für Laos ist) nicht verlieren willst, sei unbedingt pünktlich zurück. Ich war 2 Minuten (!!!) zu spät und habe meine Kaution nicht zurückbekommen…

Laos ist wirklich ein tolles Land und vor allem Vang Vieng begeistert mit seiner atemberaubenden Landschaft. Nimm Dir auf jeden Fall genug Zeit für diesen Ort, es gibt wirklich jede Menge zu erkunden und entdecken. Für mich war es einer der schönsten Orte in Laos und ich würde hier her immer wieder kommen.

Warst Du schon einmal in Laos? Was sind Deine Lieblingsplätze? Ich freue mich über Deinen Kommentar.

Anne


Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_excludeUntranslatedPostComments() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/annestra/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 288
Schreibe einen Kommentar
*